Board info:
  • No birthdays today
  • In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest
  • It is currently 21 Oct 2017, 12:35

Quake 3 Faster than Quake Live?!

Anything unrelated to Quake in here.

Quake 3 Faster than Quake Live?!

Postby sMoGz » 16 May 2010, 10:36

Hey all,
Just wondering if im going mentally insane...
Is Quake 3 Faster then Quake Live? maybe its because the Quake Live engine is more demanding of my pc or something, but I just played 1 v 1 versus a nightmare bot (and won :D ) and I was sure that the overall experience and speed of Quake 3 was faster than Quake Live. I dont know, maybe it was that dodgey meth I had an hour beforehand. but seriously is Quake 3 faster than Quake Live or am I insane :| ?
I envelope you with dirty mist,
then rail you in the face. Deal with it.
sMoGz :)
sMoGz
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15 May 2010, 17:16
Location: BEHIND_YOU!/South Africa
Quake Live Nick: sMoGz

Re: Quake 3 Faster than Quake Live?!

Postby n0ble » 16 May 2010, 11:47

As much as it might seem like it, its not. QL and Q3 have pretty much the exact same physics which includes movement and projectile speed, except rockets, but who isnt playing osp andways.. What is likely the case is that you the graphics and configurations in either game might be different. For example, a high fov can make it seem like youre flying around the map, while the original setting can be compared to clicking on icons on the desktop.

hope that helps :P
Image
n0ble
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 10 Mar 2010, 15:06
Location: Cape Town
Quake Live Nick: _n0ble_
Clan Tag: / xTc /

Re: Quake 3 Faster than Quake Live?!

Postby sMoGz » 16 May 2010, 12:17

Oh ok, cause I was really wondering as to why they would have slowed down the game when Quake 3 was so perfect anyways, the speed of Quake is what makes it enjoyable to me. Much more intense than other games than most other FPS I have played.
I envelope you with dirty mist,
then rail you in the face. Deal with it.
sMoGz :)
sMoGz
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15 May 2010, 17:16
Location: BEHIND_YOU!/South Africa
Quake Live Nick: sMoGz

Re: Quake 3 Faster than Quake Live?!

Postby n0ble » 16 May 2010, 13:35

heh, if you play UT right its around the same speed, just less consistent ^^
Image
n0ble
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 10 Mar 2010, 15:06
Location: Cape Town
Quake Live Nick: _n0ble_
Clan Tag: / xTc /

Re: Quake 3 Faster than Quake Live?!

Postby sMoGz » 17 May 2010, 17:27

ya noble but. UT & Quake. Quake FTW :D
I envelope you with dirty mist,
then rail you in the face. Deal with it.
sMoGz :)
sMoGz
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15 May 2010, 17:16
Location: BEHIND_YOU!/South Africa
Quake Live Nick: sMoGz


Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Who is online In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 43 on 19 Jul 2016, 23:53

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest